Four Oakridge Seniors Named National Merit Commended Students
Posted 09/20/2019 04:11PM

Four Oakridge seniors have been named Commended Students in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program (NMSC). The scholastically talented group includes Hannah Didehbani, Eric Johnson, Roman Scott, and Alita Whitaker.

Approximately 34,000 Commended Students from across the country are recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the 2020 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Students placed among the top five percent of the more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2020 competition by taking the 2018 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).

“The young men and women being named Commended Students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success,” a spokesperson for the NMSC said. “These students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation. We hope that this recognition will help broaden their education opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success.”

Commended Students receive a Letter of Commendation from the school and National Merit Scholarship Corporation. Oakridge seniors Annemarie Roos and Colin Skinner earlier this month were named National Merit Scholarship semifinalists.

email page print page small type large type
powered by finalsite