Home >
Old Site > About
Tools :
Oakridge School


The Oakridge School is a coeducational, college preparatory school enrolling students preschool through 12th grade. Emphasizing personal development, the school aims to provide an education of highest quality to academically qualified students, to motivate each student to perform at his or her maximum potential, and to prepare students for a life of achievement and participation in society.

Oakridge was founded in 1979 by a group of concerned parents and educators who sought a comprehensive approach to education. The school opened in the 1979-1980 academic year with 85 students in the Handley United Methodist Church. Headmaster Andy J. Broadus was selected in March 1981. In September 2007, Mr. Broadus was appointed President, and Jonathan Kellam was appointed Headmaster.

In March 1982, the school moved into the Handley Middle School Building. Oakridge opened its Early Childhood Center at the present 36-acre Pioneer Parkway campus in 1984 and added the Upper School in 1985. The 1986-1987 school year saw the completion of the Lower/Middle School Building and Student Activity Center. In 1994, a new library and multipurpose activity center were constructed. The Information Center and Fine Arts buildings were constructed during the 1999-2000 school year and were fully operational for the beginning of the 2000-2001 school year. In September 2006, the school purchased 47.5 acres for future growth, and the security center was completed in October 2007.

Oakridge’s first senior class of seven students graduated in May 1985, and all were accepted to a college of their choice. A program for three-year-old children in the Early Childhood Center began in September 1989. The school’s first National Merit Scholar was named in September 1992, its first National Achievement Scholar was named in February 1995, and its first National Hispanic Scholar in 2002.

The Oakridge School is a nonprofit institution governed by an elected Board of Regents. The school is accredited by the Independent Schools Association of the Southwest (1988). It holds membership in the National Association of Independent Schools (1987) and is recognized by the Texas Education Agency (1982).

Mr. Chuck Reynolds
Mr. Bruce Ashworth
Mr. Chris Buckalew
Mrs. Kim Callanan
Mr. Steve Crudup
Mrs. Kay Duggan
Mr. Don Duke
Dr. Richard Enos
Dr. Trent Glaser
Mrs. Brenda Gooden
Mr. Jim Haddock
Mr. Scott Howell
Mr. John Kacinski
Mr. Richard Lowe
Mr. Mike McWithey
Dr. Scott Morse
Mr. Charles Pierson
Ms. Nancy O’Shea
Lifetime Member
Mrs. Dana Queenan
Mr. Don Starnes
Lifetime Member
Mr. Curtis Von Der Ahe
Mr. Steve Wall

© 2010 The Oakridge School  |  5900 West Pioneer Parkway  |  Arlington, Texas 76013  |  817.451.4994  |  Site Map
email page print page small type large type
powered by finalsite